Drawing Ferlinghetti

In 2002, I was working in San Francisco. I worked as a carpenter right across the street from Giants Stadium. Not only could I see the big reader board in the stadium and see Barry Bonds hit his 73rd in 2001, but I got to see the Stones play the stadium.

Down the pier from the stadium was a little old-time cafe called the Java House.

I would walk across the street for breakfast a couple of times a week.One morning I had been listening to an NPR interview with Lawrence Ferlinghetti, the noted activist, co-founder of City Lights Booksellers and Publishers .

After listening to the interview I headed across to the cafe and settled into one of the booths. From the next table over I heard a voice that sounded a lot like the one in the radio interview. I turned and asked the gentleman sitting there what his name was….he said “Larry” I thought so I muttered to myself, and what a coincidence! I asked him if I could draw his portrait ( I usually carry some kind of  paper and pencil with me). He returned to his meal and I started drawing. He seemed a little uncomfortable with my forwardness so I just made a quick sketch. Here’s the result.

Lawrence Ferlinghetti turned 96 in March of 2015, and is…. still active. He  shows  his paintings at The George Krevsky Gallery.

2 thoughts on “Drawing Ferlinghetti

Leave a Reply

